Audition dates and venues

Brian Slater

All applicants to our full-time training courses and our Associate programmes are offered an audition

Applications for full-time training as well as Mid, Senior and Advanced Associates are now open. Applications for Junior Associates will open in January 2020.

UK auditions 2020

Applications for full-time training are now open. Apply now

UK preliminary auditions for full-time training will be held in Bath, Birmingham, London and Manchester in January and February 2020.

Final auditions for applicants who are successful at the preliminary stage are held in London in February and March 2020.

Audition

Date

London 1
White Lodge: School Year 8-9 girls entry
Mid Associate
Sunday 12 January
Bath 1 
White Lodge: Years 7-9 entry
Mid Associates
Wednesday 15 January
Bath 2
Upper School and White Lodge: Years 10-11 entry
Senior/Advanced Associates
Thursday 16 January
London 2
White Lodge: Year 7-11 boys and Year 10-11 girls
Mid Associate boys, Senior Associate (boys and girls if also White Lodge)
Sunday 19 January
Manchester 1
Upper School and White Lodge: School Year 9-11 entry
Mid/Senior/Advanced Associate
Wednesday 22 January
Manchester 2
White Lodge: School Year 7-8 entry
Mid Associate
Thursday 23 January
London 3 
White Lodge: School Year 7 girls entry
Mid Associate girls
Sunday 26 January
Birmingham 1
Upper School and White Lodge: School Year 10-11 entry
Senior/Advanced Associate
Thursday 30 January
Birmingham 2
White Lodge: School Year 7-9 entry
Mid Associate
Friday 31 January
London 4
Upper School
Advanced Associates
Sunday 2 February
London SA1
Senior Associate  
Wednesday 5 February
London SA2
Senior Associate  
Thursday 6 February

Audition

Date

Final 1
White Lodge: Year 7 boys
Thursday 27 February
Final 2
White Lodge: Year 8-11 girls and boys
Friday 28 February
Final 3
White Lodge: Year 7 girls
Thursday 5 and Friday 6 March
Final 4
Upper School: all
Semi-Final: Saturday 14 March
Final: Sunday 15 March

International auditions 2020

Audition closer to home at one of our international preliminary auditions in Spain, Czech Republic, Italy or the USA. Find out more

Associate auditions 2020

Applications for Mid, Senior and Advanced Associates open in September for entry the following year. Applications for Junior Associates open in mid January for entry that same year.

Junior Associate auditions are held in May at our centres in Newcastle, Manchester, Birmingham, Leeds, Eastleigh, Bath, Totnes, London and our new centre Dundee.

Mid, Senior and Advanced Associate candidates are invited to attend a preliminary audition in January or February.

Audition dates

Totnes Wednesday 22 April 2020
Bath 1 Thursday 30 April 2020
Bath 2 Friday 1 May 2020
Birmingham 1 Sunday 3 May 2020
Birmingham 2 Sunday 17 May 2020
Manchester 1 Wednesday 6 May 2020
Manchester 2 Thursday 7 May 2020
Eastleigh Monday 11 May 2020
Leeds 1 Friday 15 May 2020
Leeds 2 Wednesday 20 May 2020
Newcastle Thursday 21 May 2020
Dundee Friday 22 May 2020
London 1 Tuesday 26 May 2020
London 2 Wednesday 27 May 2020
London 3 Thursday 28 May 2020
London 4 Friday 29 May 2020

Please note, venues with more than one date will have the day allocated according to age following the provisional guidelines above when possible, however class allocation is dependant on numbers of applications received from each age-group with exact numbers only known after the close date - invitations to audition will be emailed out in April and will give you confirmed dates and class times.

Class allocation is conditional on the age-range of applicants received at the application close date, which can vary year on year.

Video auditions 2020

Video application forms for 2020 entry are now open

International and EEA applicants who do not live in the UK* may submit a video audition as preliminary stage audition instead of attending a preliminary in person (full-time course applications only).

*Exceptions: a video application is also an option for candidates living in Scotland and Ireland if preferred.

Video applicants apply using our online application form and selecting the Video option.  Always prepare and film your video before completing the application form.

All video applications must include photos and fee payment together with the uploaded video link and all must be submitted together by the closing deadline.

Video submissions are all are viewed by the head of the preliminary selection panel and given equal consideration to those attending in person.

An overseas applicant may attend one of our scheduled UK auditions in person if preferred but please note that The Royal Ballet School cannot supply visa support documents for this purpose.

Video auditions are only accepted for Associate entry by specific arrangement, please email your request prior to completing a video application. However, as we accept video applications for full-time candidates living in Scotland and Ireland if unable to attend in person, we will also consider an Associate application by video link if you currently live in Scotland or Ireland.

Any applicant successful at video/preliminary stage for full-time training will be invited to London to attend a final audition in person during March.

Check our video requirements.