Lynn seymour award for expressive dance 2018

Lynn Seymour Award for Expressive Dance 2018

Congratulations to Sheung Yin Chan and Sacha Genet, joint winners of 2018 Lynn Seymour Award for Expressive Dance.

The Award took place on Thursday 22 November and was open to 2nd Year students. Each year the students are invited to perform a solo, which they select and prepare on their own without any coaching.

The award was judged by Dame Monica Mason and Kevin O’Hare, former and current Directors of The Royal Ballet. This year’s winners are…


Joint 1st place

Sheung Yin Chan
Le Jeune Homme et la Mort – opening solo, Roland Petit

Sacha Genet
Dance of the Blessed Spirits, Frederick Ashton

2nd place

Maddison Pritchard
Nocturnes, John Neumeier

Joint 3rd place

Daichi Ikarashi
Carmen – Escamillo solo, Carlos Acosta

Brigid Walker
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Queen of Hearts solo
Christopher Wheeldon


Nina Finburgh established the award in honour of ballerina, choreographer and alumna of the School, Lynn Seymour. The Award started in 2000 at White Lodge before moving to Upper School in 2002 and was judged by Lynn Seymour herself. Nina generously left a gift in her will to ensure the Award continues.

A huge congratulations to everyone who participated in the event.