Ursula moreton choreographic awards 2016

On Thursday 11th February 2016 our 2nd Year students at the Upper School in Covent Garden competed for the Ursula Moreton Choreographic Awards.

Seven students were shortlisted to show their choreography, collaborating with fellow dancers to direct and stage the work. Each piece was then performed to an audience, including the judging panel: David Bintley, Kevin O’Hare and Didy Veldman.

The Ursula Moreton Choreographic Award was created in 1973 to encourage choreographic talent. Winners have included Adam Cooper, Matthew Hart, Michael Clark, Jonathan Burrows, William Tuckett, Christopher Hampson, Christopher Wheeldon, Cathy Marston and Xander Parish, all of whom have gone on to have careers as choreographers.

Congratulations to 2016 winner, Joshua Junker, for his creation Jangala.


On winning he said: ‘It’s completely overwhelming – I’m so grateful I can’t believe it!’

Joshua is pictured here with 2nd place winner Rio Anderson (right) and 3rd place winner Gus Payne (left).

See more pictures on our Flickr:

Ursula moreton feb 16