Junior choreographics: ninette de valois awards, 2016

The annual Ninette de Valois Junior Choreographic Award, dedicated to the memory of the School’s founder, was held at White Lodge on Wednesday 24 March.

An incredible 37 entries were inspired by the Award, choreographed by students from Years 7, 8 and 9. Of these, twelve pieces were performed in the final, which was judged by a panel including Kevin O’Hare, Kristen McNally and Gail Monahan.

After a period of deliberation, during which Upper School students performed solos as well as pieces from the recent Ursula Moreton Choreographic Awards, the judges decided on a winner. The winner was Year 7 student, Guillem Cabrera Espanich for his composition, Sunset which was set to Berlin by Piano Guys.

Scroll down to watch the video.

In second place was Year 9 Student, Annabel Pickering with her piece, Melting Point, set to Nachspiel, Spheres, Berlin by Overnight. Third place was tied between Strings of Orpheus by Vlada Kotter and Time Flies by Amelia Silk, both in Year 8. Their music was Fratres and Háry János Suite: Viennese Musical Clock, respectively. Our thanks to Peter Wilson, who generously sponsors the three Ninette de Valois Choreographic Awards.

Other choreographic awards presented included the James Monahan Medal for the most promising choreographer, which was awarded to third place winner, Vlada Kotter, for Strings of Orpheus. The John Mitchell Folder Prize for the best choreographic folder was given to Lydia Brashaw in Year 9. Kristen McNally, who presented the award, commended all folders submitted, but said that Lydia’s best represented the choreography performed.

The presentation was also an opportunity to recognise the achievements of older students in the School. The Frank Freeman Summer School Scholarship, which is sponsored by Malcolm Stuart, was awarded to Tobias De Gromoboy and the April Olrich Award for dynamic performance was presented to Daichi Ikarashi by Nigel Pegram. The Valerie Adams Prize for exceptional talent in musicality and dance quality, was awarded jointly to Ginevra Zambon and Matthew Bates.

Congratulations to all involved for a spectacular performance and our thanks to the judges for giving up their time for the event.