Ursula moreton choreographic award 2018

Ursula Moreton Choreographic Award 2018

Congratulations to Kele Roberson and Damen Axtens, winners of this year’s Ursula Moreton Choreographic Award 2018 with their piece Introspection.

Introspection, set to music composed and arranged by violinist Anna Phoebe, asks the question ‘can you, if only for a second, allow your mind to be quiet?’

On Tuesday 30 January at the Linden Theatre, Upper School, eight 2nd Year students presented their choreography to an audience of friends, family, donors with a distinguished judging panel including Christopher Hampson, Wayne McGregor, Kerry Nicholls, Mikaela Polley and Billy Trevitt.

This year’s winners are…

1st Prize – Kele Roberson and Damen Axtens for Introspection

2nd Prize – Emily Bray for Psyche

3rd Prize – Sarah Keaveney for After Zero

The Ursula Moreton Choreographic Award is an annual opportunity for our 2nd Year students to create, rehearse and show their own choreography.

Each student benefits, throughout the creative process, from improvisation classes, workshops with guest choreographers, collaborations with musicians, as well as regular discussions and meetings to reflect on their piece. The process means students are able to experience working as a professional choreographer, encompassing all the elements that make a production successful including; staging, props, lighting and costumes.

The Ursula Moreton Choreographic Award, generously supported by Peter Wilson, was created in 1973 to encourage choreographic talent. Winners have included Adam Cooper, Matthew Hart, Michael Clark, Jonathan Burrows, William Tuckett, Christopher Hampson, Christopher Wheeldon and Cathy Marston, all of whom have gone on to have careers as choreographers.

Congratulations to everyone involved and our thanks to the panel for their time judging the event and giving notes to students.

Browse our Flickr gallery below:

Ursula moreton choreographic award 2018