All of our 2024 pre-professional students at their graduation in the linden studio theatre

Graduation 2024

Just after finishing their final performance at the Royal Opera House as students of The Royal Ballet School, our Pre-professional students met their loved ones outside the stage door before heading into the Linden Studio Theatre for their graduation ceremony. Surrounded by family, friends, and teachers, the students celebrated their remarkable achievements and the culmination of their training at the School. 

The ceremony 

Following a warm welcome from Artistic Director Christopher Powney, the graduating class was presented, and Chairman Anna Birkett delivered a speech to the students. Anna Birkett applauded the graduating class for their contributions to the School and wished them well in their future: 

Today, you have done something so special. You have performed on stage at the Royal Opera House for a sell-out audience who loved every second. So, please, enjoy this moment. Remember it not just for your sensational dancing but also for the special experience of performing for one final time with your graduating classmates. I hope the bonds of friendship you have formed with each other during your time here last for many years to come.  

Mr Powney imparted inspiration and valuable advice to students, which they can carry throughout their professional careers and lives. He encouraged them to adopt and cultivate a growth mindset, be intelligent, stay curious, and be okay with failure. 

Wayne McGregor, renowned choreographer, director, and current Resident Choreographer of The Royal Ballet, was the guest speaker and delivered the keynote speech.  

During his speech, Wayne reflected on his career and what he has learned along the way. He reminded our students that they are the future of ballet, and that comes with a great power to make positive change and impact. 

Wayne McGregor and Artistic Manager Jessica Clarke presented the graduates with their diplomas, which were met with enthusiastic applause. 


The Ashton Award 

This prestigious award is given to a graduate who embodies the style, personality, and technique of Ashton choreography. Christopher Nourse, Executive Director of the Frederick Ashton Foundation, presented the award on behalf of Robert Kimber, who generously supported this award in memoriam. 

Awarded to: Katie Robertson 

The David Norman Award 

Sponsored by Geoffrey Smith,  this award honours a graduating student who has demonstrated exceptional leadership qualities and good citizenship. 

Awarded to: Jana Faye Teruel 

The Worshipful Company of Gold and Silver Wyre Drawers Awards 

These awards are presented to male and female students who have shown significant progress in classical ballet training during their time at the School. 

Awarded to: Joe Birtles Clarke and Lucy Hind 

The London Ballet Circle Dame Ninette Awards 

Keith White, London Ballet Circle Treasurer, generously presented these awards to the most outstanding male and female students graduating in 2024. 

Awarded to: Emile Gooding and Rebecca Stewart 

Graduating students Ravi Cannonier-Watson and Katie Robertson delivered heartfelt speeches, reflecting on their experiences at the School and expressing gratitude to their fellow students, teachers, and families for their support. 

2024 graduate contracts 

We are delighted to announce the contracts awarded to our 2024 graduates. Six students will be joining The Royal Ballet Aud Jebsen Young Dancers Programme this year and a further two are joining Birmingham Royal Ballet/BRB2. Other students are joining prestigious companies in the UK and across the globe. 

Joseph Birtles Clarke, Dutch National Ballet Junior Company 

Sigurd Blystad, Norwegian National Ballet 2 

Ravi Cannonier-Watson, The Royal Ballet Aud Jebsen Young Dancers Programme 

Tom Cape, The National Ballet of Canada 

Yasmin Caynak, Balletto di Milano  

Jules Chastre, Norwegian National Ballet 2 

Charlotte Cohen, Birmingham Royal Ballet/BRB2 

Liberty Fergus, Ballett Dortmund Junior Company 

Emile Gooding, The Royal Ballet Aud Jebsen Young Dancers Programme 

Tianie-Finn Grainger, Ballett Dortmund Junior Company 

Lucy Hind, Royal Swedish Ballet 

Yeju Jang, National Ballet of Canada 

Francesca Lloyd, The Royal Ballet Aud Jebsen Young Dancers Programme 

Marta Monesi, English National Ballet 

Alejandro Muñoz, The Royal Ballet Aud Jebsen Young Dancers Programme 

John Murch, Dutch National Ballet Junior Company 

Andrea Riolo, Birmingham Royal Ballet/BRB2 

Maia Rose Roberts, Ballett Zürich Junior Company 

Katie Robertson, The Royal Ballet Aud Jebsen Young Dancers Programme 

Edoardo Savini, Ballett Zürich Junior Company 

Jackson Smith-Leishman, Paris Opera Junior Ballet

Rebecca Stewart, The Royal Ballet Aud Jebsen Young Dancers Programme 

Jana Faye Teruel, Ballett Zürich Junior Company 

Taira Watanabe, pursuing further studies at University

Javier Wong, Czech National Ballet 

Congratulations to all our graduates – we are incredibly proud of their accomplishments and wish them the very best in their future endeavours. 

Browse photographs from the graduation ceremony below.

Graduation 2024