Winners of 2015 kenneth macmillan choreographic award announced

Kenneth macmillan senior choreographic awards 2015

On Thursday 10 December, the annual Kenneth MacMillan Senior Choreographic Award took place in the Margot Fonteyn Studio Theatre at our White Lodge base. There were twelve performances of individual pieces of original choreography, which had been created by our Year 10 and 11 students.

The award recognises creative talent and encourages students to work imaginatively with music. Complementing their traditional ballet training, choreography is a key part of our students’ development as dancers.

This year’s winner was Molly Shaw-Downie (Year 11), with her composition Anima Damnata.

Second place was awarded to Mirabelle Seymour (Year 10) for her piece Strands of Time. In joint third place were Gillian Whittall (Year 10) for her piece Percussion and Matthew Bates (Year 11) with a composition called M.A.N.

The John Mitchell folder prize, which recognises the documentation of the artistic development of a piece, was awarded to Counting 8 by Suky Spray (Year 10).

This year the award was judged by Director of the Royal Ballet, Kevin O’Hare and former Principal ballerinas of the Royal Ballet, Marguerite Porter and Darcey Bussell.

Congratulations to everyone involved.

Find out more about choreography training at The Royal Ballet School.