Lynn seymour award for expressive dance 2019

Lynn Seymour Award for Expressive Dance 2019

Congratulations to this year’s winners of the Lynn Seymour Award for Expressive Dance.

On Thursday 21 November, 2nd Year students performed solos for Dame Monica Mason and Kevin O’Hare, former and current Directors of The Royal Ballet. Each year, the students select and prepare expressive solos on their own without any coaching.

This year’s winners are:

Joint 1st place

Viola Pantuso
La Esmeralda – Act II, Esmeralda’s variation, Marius Petipa

Olivia Findlay
The Winter’s Tale – Paulina’s variation, Christopher Wheeldon

Joint 2nd place

Eric Pinto Cata
Yugen, Wayne McGregor

Alix Van Tiggelen
La vie en roseNon, je ne regrette rien, Ben Van Cauwenbergh

Joint 3rd place

Elijah Trevitt
School of Thought – Male solo, Sol León and Paul Lightfoot

Amiruddin Shah
Maliphant, Jade Hale-Christofi

A huge congratulations to everyone who participated in the event.

Nina Finburgh established the award in honour of ballerina, choreographer and alumna of the School, Lynn Seymour. The Award started in 2000 at White Lodge before moving to Upper School in 2002 and was judged by Lynn Seymour herself. Nina generously left a gift in her will to ensure the Award continues.

Lynn seymour award 2019