Ninette de valois choreographic award 2018

Ninette de Valois Choreographic Award 2018

The winner of the 2018 Ninette de Valois Choreographic Award was Grace Donovan with her composition Cloudburst.

The Award is dedicated to the memory of our Founder and is part of the School’s strong tradition of nurturing young choreographic talent.

This year 12 young choreographers, aged 11-14, were selected from a number of students to develop and present their work at three separate performances.

At yesterday’s Award performance, a panel of distinguished judged the pieces and selected the winners.

1st PrizeCloudburst by Grace Donovan, Year 8

2nd PrizeMind The Gap by Constance Bowes, Year 9

3rd PrizeOutcast by William Ashraf and Arlen Camburn-Morrissey, Year 7

CommendationThe Imperial ‘Good Companion’ by Ruben Mariner Barbeito, Year 8

The Valerie Adams Award for exceptional musicality went to Eric Pinto Cata. It is generously supported by Valerie Adams

The James Monahan Medal went to Harriet Gibson, Year 8 for her piece Refugee

The John Mitchell Folder Prize for the best choreographic folder went to Alexandra Sacharova-Drame, Year 8, for her folder on her piece Spirits of the Wilderness. Generously supported by Mr and Mrs Mitchell.

Thanks to our judges: choreographer Mark Baldwin OBE, former Artistic Director of Rambert; international choreographer and Principal Character Artist of The Royal Ballet, Alastair Marriott; former dancer and internationally renowned dance teacher Petal Miller Ashmole; and Kerry Nicholls, choreographer and Director of Kerry Nicholls Dance.

Our grateful thanks to Peter Wilson, who generously sponsors the Award.

Take a look through our photos from the event below:

Ninette de valois choreographic award 2018